Law Enforcement Review Board

The Law Enforcement Review Board (LERB) is an independent quasi-judicial body established under the Police Act (R.S.A. 2000, Chapter P-17).

The principal activity of the board is to hear appeals for both citizens and police officers separate and apart from the police service involved. The principal objective of the board is independent and impartial review.  At the request of the minister, the board may also investigate any matter relating to policing.  Individuals who can appeal are:

  • A citizen
  • A police officer
  • A peace officer

Once the board has made a decision about an appeal, it is binding. The only further appeal that can be made is to the Court of Appeal and only if the board made a legal error in its decision (also called point of law).

The Law Enforcement Review Board is made up of members from the public, who are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor. The members represent a broad range of experience in the community. The chair of the board must be an active member of the Law society.

Law Enforcement Review Board
c/o Board Secretary
1502 Oxford Tower
10025-102 A Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta  T5J 2Z2

Board Members

The Board’s membership is made up of the following:

  • Ellen-Anne O’Donnell, Chair
  • Ahmed Ali
  • Geeta Bharadia QC
  • Christine S. Enns
  • Victoria Foster
  • Rosetta Khalideen
  • Judy Kim-Meneen
  • Damien Lachat
  • Eugene Maeda
  • Lise Zarb

Board Member Profiles  - 652 KB Download Adobe Acrobat Reader
Mandate and Roles - 196 KB Download Adobe Acrobat Reader
Code of Conduct - 766 KB Download Adobe Acrobat Reader


Categories of Police Misconduct
LERB Appeal Information
2015-18 Strategic Direction
(More Documents...)